Connecticut’s Ratification – The U.S. Constitution Online – USConstitution.net

Connecticut’s Ratification


Ratification of the Constitution by the State of Connecticut, January 9,
1788. Connecticut was the fifth state to do so. Connecticut’s ratification
message was short and to the point. The following text is taken from the
Library of Congress’s copy of Elliot’s Debates.

In the Name of the People of the State of Connecticut.

We, the delegates of the people of said state, in general Convention
assembled, pursuant to an act of the legislature in October last, have assented
to, and ratified, and by these presents do assent to, on the 17th day of
September, A. D. 1787, for the United States of America.

Done in Convention, this 9th day of January, A. D. 1788.

In witness whereof, we have hereunto set our hands.


Jeremiah Wadsworth,
Jesse Root,
Isaac Lee,
Selah Hart,
Zebulon Peck, Jun.,
Elisha Pitkin,
Erastur Wolcott,
John Watson,
John Treadwell,
William Judd,
Nathaniel Minor,
Jonathan Sturges,
Thaddeus Burr,
Elisha Whittlesey,
Joseph Moss White,
Amos Mead,
Jabez Fitch,
Nehemiah Beardsley,
James Potter,
John Chandler,
Issac Burnham,
John Wilder,
Mark Prindle,
Jedediah Hubbel,
Aaron Austin,
Samuel Canfield,
Daniel Everitt,
Hezekiah Fitch,
Joshua Porter,
Benjamin Hinma,
Joseph Mosely,
Wait Goodrich,
John Curtiss,
Asa Barns,
Stephen Mix Mitchell,
John Chester,
Oliver Ellsworth,
Roger Newberry,
Roger Sherman,
Pierpont Edwards,
Samuel Beach,
Daniel Holbrook,
John Holbrook,
Gideon Buckingham,
Lewis Mallet, Jun.
Joseph Hopkins,
John Welton,
Richard Law,
Amasa Learned,
Samuel Huntington,
Jedediah Huntington,
Isaac Huntington,
Robert Robbins,
Daniel Foot,
Eli Hyde,
Joseph Woodbridge,
Stephen Billings,
Andrew Lee,
William Noyes,
Joshua Raymond, Jun.,
Jeremiah Halsey,
Wheeler Coit,
Charles Phelps,
John Beach,
Hezekiah Rogers,
Lemuel Sandford,
William Heron,
Philip Burr Bradley,
Nathan Danchy,
James Davenport,
John Davenport, Jun.,
Wm. Samuel Johnson,
Elisha Mills,
Eliphalet Dyer,
Jedediah Elderkin,
Simeon Smith,
Hendrick Dow,
Seth Paine,
Asa Witter,
Moses Cleveland,
Samson Howe,
William Danielson,
William Williams,
James Bradford,
Joshua Dunlap,
Daniel Learned,
Moses Campbell,
Benjamin Dow,
Oliver Wolcott,
Jedediah Strong,
Moses Hawley,
Charles Burrall,
Nathan Hale,
Daniel Miles,
Asaph Hall,
Epaphras Sheldon,
Eleazer Curtiss,
John Whittlesey,
Dan. Nath. Brinsmade,
Thomas Fenn,
David Smith,
Robert M’Cune,
Daniel Sherman,
Samuel Orton,
Asher Miller,
Samuel H. Parsons,
Ebenezer White,
Hezekiah Goodrich,
Dyer Throop,
Jabez Chapman,
Cornelius Higgins,
Hezekiah Brainard,
Theophilus Morgan,
Hezekiah Lane,
William Hart,
Samuel Shipman,
Jeremiah West,
Samuel Chapman,
Ichabod Warner,
Samuel Carver,
Jeremiah Ripley,
Ephraim Root,
John Phelps,
Isaac Foot,
Abijah Sessions,
Caleb Holt,
Seth Crocker.

State of Connecticut, ss. Hartford, January Ninth, Anno Domini, 1788.
— The foregoing ratification was agreed to, and signed as above, by one
hundred and twenty-eight, and dissented to by forty delegates in convention,
which is a majority of eighty-eight.

Certified by MATTHEW GRISWOLD, President.

Teste. Jedediah Strong, Secretary.